Let's Get Tispy With Booze Cakes

In The Kitchen - Booze Cakes .jpg
Booze Cakes.jpeg

Booze Cakes, the perfect combination in my book.  What is booze cake, the title says it all… Cake filled with booze, it's like a confectionary wet dream.  BOOZE CAKES is written by Krystina Castella and Terry Lee Stone. This delightful book gives you the ins and outs for spiking delicious confections with spirits, wine, and beer. 

CLASSIC BOOZE CAKES

All the recipes your grandparents used to bake, including bourbon-filled Lane Cake frosted with decadent bourbon buttercream, a moist Golden Rum Cake, a lovely take on the traditional English Trifle and the salty-sweet Honey Spice Beer Cake.

COCKTAIL CAKES

These brand-new recipes are based on classic cocktails and mixed drinks: A topical Piña Colada Cake, cool refreshing Mint Julep Cupcakes, and creamy, chocolatey Rum-and-Coke Whoopie Pies.

CAKE SHOTS

For the perfect party snack, try these bite-sized little morsels: Long Island Ice Tea Cakes, decadently sophisticated Wine Tasting Cakes, and every imaginable kind of Jelly Cake Shots.

CAKES WITH A TWIST

These extraordinary cake recipes are made even better with alcohol. Enjoy a Jägermeister-powered Deutsch German Chocolate Cake, the Shamelessly Rich Carrot Cake infused with 151-proof rum, and frosty, delicious Spiked Ice-Cream Cake.

Something else that they do oh so right is give you a handy dandy Booze Meter.  It let's you know just how tipsy your guests will be after they indulged in your cocktail cake.   I'm thinking of enacting my own personal booze meter, for everyday situations.  It's simple I take a situation and determine how much booze will be needed to get me through it.  Trip to the DMV Booze Meter Level 1.  Receiving invitation to ex-boyfriends wedding Booze Meter Level 8.  Actually going to ex-boyfriends wedding… I think I just broke the Booze Meter. Cheers!

*Follow the lovely ladies behind this tipsy confection at BOOZECAKEBOOK.  For more Krystina Castella head on over to CRAZY ABOUT CUPCAKES and you can find Terry Lee Stone at her PERSONAL WEBSITE.

**To lazy to make a cake or cooking challenged? Don't worry you can buy boozy goodies right HERE, only downside is you can't lick the spoon.

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: Permission To Be You

Book%20Club%20Let_s%20Pretend%20This%20Never%20Happened.jpg

The road to self-acceptance can be a rocky one with lots of twists and turns. When I think back to some of the paths I attempted as a teen I kind of cringe. In her memoir, Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson got some help on that path thanks to her father, a turkey named Jenkins, and an incident in the public school library. Read More of Karen Ballum’s post at BlogHer.

Because it was the first time in my life that I gave myself permission to be me. I was still shy and still self-conscious and terrified of people, but Jenkins had essentially freed me of the bonds of having to try to fit in. It was a lesson I should have been happy to learn at such a young age, if it weren’t for the fact that it was a teaching moment centering on a public turkey attack witnessed by all of the same kids I would graduate from high school with.
— Pages 52-53

Book Club Links:



Bowls Versus Trash Cans

Book%20Club%20Let_s%20Pretend%20This%20Never%20Happened.jpg

When you begin sharing your life with someone, you discover differences in family traditions. Sometimes they are foreseeable and other times they take you by surprise. Jenny Lawson recounts many of these in her memoir, Let's Pretend This Never Happened, including the time she discovered she had been sitting on couches wrong. One of my favorites from the book was when she and Victor were talking about deer blood and vomit. Yes. Really. Read More of Karen Ballum’s post at BlogHer.

Book Club Links:

What's Your Favorite Funny Childhood Memory? #BHBC

Book%20Club%20Let_s%20Pretend%20This%20Never%20Happened.jpg

In between laughing at Jenny Lawson's recounting of her childhood memories in her memoir, Let's Pretend This Never Happened, I found myself comparing it to my own childhood. We didn't have raccoons in the bathtub, but my uncle totally had a raccoon for a while. Alas, no one thought to make it jams. It did make me remember a few other childhood memories, particularly those involving wild animals. Read More of Karen Ballum’s post at BlogHer

Book Club Links:

I Just Want To Eat My Dinner In Silence And Go Home aka Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Book Club Let_s Pretend This Never Happened.jpg

A lot of you had the New Year's Resolution to read more books. Yep that's right, it's March and I'm still bringing up those drunken resolutions you all made.  For some of you, reading books wasn't a problem, but you did want to branch out from your usual genre.  BlogHer Book Club, or any book club is a great way to do both.  With book clubs since you aren't in change of picking the book, you often end up reading things you would've never cracked open.  Sometimes you fall in love with it, and other times you hope to never cross paths with that author again.  

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris-Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father (a professional taxidermist who created dead-animal hand puppets) and a childhood of wearing winter shoes made out of used bread sacks. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it.

Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter are the perfect comedic foils to her absurdities, and help her to uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments-the ones we want to pretend never happened-are the very same moments that make us the people we are today.

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir is a poignantly disturbing, yet darkly hysterical tome for every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud. Like laughing at a funeral, this book is both irreverent and impossible to hold back once you get started.

AUTHOR BIO:  Known for her sardonic wit and her hysterically skewed outlook on life, Jenny Lawson has made millions of people question their own sanity, as they found themselves admitting that they, too, often wondered why Jesus wasn’t classified as a zombie, or laughed to the point of bladder failure when she accidentally forgot that she mailed herself a cobra. Her blog (www.thebloggess.com) is award-winning, extremely popular, and she is considered to be one of  the funniest women alive by at least three people.

Let's Pretend This Never Happened  by Jenny Lawson is smack dab in the middle for me.  Some parts I found really funny, but after while I was over it.  It was sort of like going to a dinner party you really didn't want to go to, and getting sat next to someone you don't know.  In a pleasant surprise that stranger has some amazing stories to tell.  At first they have you laughing out loud, and you can't get enough.  You're already planning on asking the to brunch next weekend, but then something shifts.  A lot of the stories start to feel too big to be real, or just variations of previous stories, and right around story #500 (or maybe it just feels that way) you just want to eat your dinner in silence and go home.     

A lot of people seemed to be turned off by the vulgarity and cursing int he book, but that was right up my alley.  In real life, I cuss like sailor.   My problem was the flow of the book.  Since Jenny Lawson is a blogger this book reads more like the worlds longest blog post and less like a book.  She jumps all over the place with bits and pieces of scattered thoughts.  Sort of like an excited 6 year old telling you what they did today, halfway through it's just a white noise of incoherent ramblings until you finally get to the end.  

Overall I think I might take the book titles advice and pretend this never happened.

Book Club Links:

Would You Maim a Buddy? #BHBC

Book Club- Touch and Go.jpg
Touch & Go
By Lisa Gardner

Now, hold on. I don't mean that the way it sounds, I promise! I like to read the author's notes and acknowledgements in books and Lisa Gardner's notes forTouch and Go were fascinating. I loved finding out how many characters in the book were named after real people. Even better, those real names came from people who entered contests, like Gardner's annual "Kill a Friend, Maim a Buddy Sweepstakes." Gardner also offered up some naming privileges to be auctioned off for a charity. I love all of this so much. For more head on over to BlogHer Book Club.  {excerpt from Karen Ballum}

Book Club Links